Spring training

So, I haven’t been writing much. I’ve spent most of the spring following my three early season races working on fixing the deficiencies that became all too obvious to me and anyone that reads my race reports.
The problem that I’ve been running into is life is getting in the way of training. Having four children, a demanding job and a lot of work related travel is making it tough to have a training schedule that I can maintain. As I write this I am sitting on a plane that is taking me to the other side of the world.
The plan was for me to get up early in the morning and workout. This sounds like a great idea but execution has been hard because I’ve been getting up too late to workout, or it’s been raining so my motivation to go out is lacking (ignoring the safety concerns) and the past week has been my annual hell week for allergies, so I’ve been skipping a lot of early workouts.
I think the other factor sapping my motivation is my horrendous showing in the spring series. Last year I was generally in the middle of the pack; this year I’m fighting to not be last. The great weather over the winter raised everyone’s game. Too bad this was the year that I lost three months because I was stupid and hurt myself.
I’ve already decided that after Hyde Park and Maderia the rest of the year is going to be riding for fun and prepping for a great 2013 season. Now, if I can only make sure that I don’t embarrass myself at those races…

Leave a comment